Submariner awards recognise achievements

Captain Doug Theobald presents a Fleet Commander silver commendation to Able Seaman Sarah McDonald at an awards ceremony held at HMAS Stirling in Western Australia. Photo: Petty Officer Yuri Ramsey

Submariner awards recognise achievements

The achievements of Navy’s Submarine Force in 2020 were recognised at the submariner awards at HMAS Stirling in Western Australia.

Commander Submarine Force Captain Doug Theobald said the achievements of the silent service in 2020 had been remarkable.

“The Submarine Force has my sincere admiration and appreciation for the manner in which each member stepped up and thrived during a challenging year; the success of 2020 is your success,” Captain Theobald said.

Able Seaman Sarah McDonald was awarded a silver commendation for her outstanding work developing a new electronic warfare package for submariners to use at sea across all of Navy’s Collins-class submarines.

HMAS Farncomb’s Leading Seaman Ryan Robertson was named submariner of the year for his exceptional performance throughout the year. 

“Leading Seaman Robertson embodies the qualities all submariners should strive for and motivates those around him to achieve their best,” Captain Theobald said.

“He was instrumental in ensuring sporting events and sporting equipment were provided to his crewmates as a way of keeping fit and maintaining a high level of morale in Farncomb.

HMAS Rankin was awarded the Platypus Cup, which recognises the submarine to have most consistently achieved a superior standard of operational proficiency, engineering and training.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.